null
Is Chocolate Really Gluten-Free? Get The Facts

Is Chocolate Really Gluten-Free? Get The Facts

Jun 18th 2019

Discovering you need to remove gluten from your diet can be stressful. There are some foods that contain gluten that are extremely obvious, and then there are foods you think wouldn’t have gluten but do. Chocolate is one of those tricky foods. Chocolate is important to us here at Pride Enjoy. In this post, we’ll help you understand the tricky relationship between chocolate and gluten.

At Pride Enjoy, we offer a range of dairy-free, gluten-free, vegan baked goods. We want everyone to be able to enjoy their favorite foods!

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Those three grains are a big part in the average person’s diet. Most people are able to digest gluten without experiencing issues. Other people, however, have issues with processing gluten. When someone who suffers from Celiac disease or has a gluten sensitivity eats gluten, they can suffer from undesirable side effects.

Understanding Gluten Sensitivities

For people with Celiac, ingesting gluten triggers the immune system to attack the bodies healthy tissue. There are a variety of symptoms that can come from this, but the most common symptoms are fatigue, stomach pain, diarrhea, and nutritional deficiencies.

For people with gluten sensitivity, ingesting gluten may cause symptoms like bloating, gas, and nausea. Individuals with either of these conditions can prevent side effects and maintain their overall health by avoiding foods containing gluten. So, what about chocolate?

Chocolate With Gluten Ingredients

Chocolate itself does not contain gluten, which is great news! However, popular chocolate bars and candy on the shelves at your local grocery store are usually mixed with gluten. For example, a candy bar that contains cookies, wafers, or pretzels will likely contain gluten because of the ingredients used. The chocolate itself is gluten-free, but there may be one or two other ingredients in there that are not.

Be Careful of Cross-Contamination

Another thing gluten-free chocolate lovers should be aware of is cross-contamination. Not only can chocolate contain gluten if certain ingredients are added, it may also have gluten if it is contaminated with wheat, barley or rye during its creation process.

When considering purchasing a food item with chocolate, you will often see at the bottom of its label a section that says “this product has been manufactured on the same equipment as x, y, z.” Wheat, a gluten-containing ingredient, will often be mentioned here. This may not seem like a big deal but eating foods that could have been cross contaminated can be harmful for people with gluten sensitivities.

Certified Gluten-Free Products

Unfortunately, there aren’t many certified gluten-free chocolates out there. An organization called the Gluten Free Certification Organization inspects various facilities and products to ensure they are gluten-free. If the facility and products are found to be gluten-free friendly, they will be certified gluten-free.

The amount and types of foods certified is always increasing, however, which is great news. So, if you’re unsure whether to eat a product because you don’t know what it contains, you can look for the approved seal on the packaging or search out other products that you know are certified.

The Bottom Line

Yes, chocolate is gluten-free. However, you need to be careful because many chocolates have ingredients that contain gluten or have cross contamination risks. Be sure to read the product label for ingredients and other important information. If you still have questions or concerns about an item, reach out to the company for assistance.

Are You A Gluten-Free Chocolate Lover? Try Pride Enjoy Chocolate Chunkas Cookies & Fudge Brownies!

chocolate-chunkas-21513.1551573154-50116.1553091942.jpg

At Pride Enjoy, we are thrilled to say that we offer several gluten-free, vegan baked goods options. Our  Chocolate Chunkas Cookies and Fudge Brownies are the perfect gluten-free chocolate snack. Even better, you can have your favorite desserts shipped right to your door!

Our Chocolate Chunkas and Fudge Brownies accommodate most people who have any food sensitivities or special diets! If you have any questions or concerns please review our ingredient information here for full details.

Shop Pride Enjoy

Everyone has occasional cravings for something sweet. If you’re looking for desserts that are dairy free, vegan, gluten-free, and allergen-friendly, consider the delicious options available at Pride Enjoy. Order today!

Shop Now

logo-square.jpg